Matthias Mann

Abstract von Prof. Dr. Matthias Mann, Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie, Martinsried


Curriculum Vitae von Prof. Dr. Reinhard Brückner


• Georg August Universität Göttingen; B.A.; 1982; Physics, Mathematics

• Georg August Universität Göttingen; Master’s Degree; 1984; Physics

• Yale University; Ph.D.; 1988; Chemical Engineering

Professional Experience:

1989–1992 Postdoctoral fellow and later Senior Scientist in the Department of Molecular Biology, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark

1992-1998 Group leader of the Protein & Peptide Group, European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), Heidelberg

1998-2007 Professor of Bioinformatics, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of Southern Denmark; Director of the Center for Experimental BioInformatics (CEBI)

2005 - Director at the Max-Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany

2007 - Additional appointment as director of the Department of Proteomics, The Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Protein Research, Faculty of Heath Sciences, University of Copenhagen, Denmark


• 1991 Malcom Award by the journal Organic Mass Spectrometry

• 1996 Mattauch Herzog Prize in Mass Spectrometry

• 1997 Hewlett-Packard Prize for Strategic Research in Automation of Sample Preparation

• 1998 Edman Prize by the “Methods in Protein Structure Analysis” Society

• 1999 Bieman Medal for Outstanding Achievement in Mass Spectrometry (American Society for Mass Spectrometry)

• 1999 Named second most cited scientist in chemistry in the years 1994 to 1996 by the Institute of Scientific Information

• 1999 Elected visiting professor Harvard Medical School

• 1999 Elected to the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO)

• 2001 Bernhard and Matha Rasmussen’s Memorial award in Cancer Research

• 2001 Meyenburg Cancer Research Award

• 2001 Fesenius Prize for Analytical Chemistry by the German Chemical Society

• 2004 Honorary Doctorate University Utrecht, Netherlands

• 2004 Lundbeck Nordic Research Prize

• 2004 Novo-Nordisk Prize (shared with Prof. Peter Roepstorff)

• 2005 Anfinsen Award of the Protein Society

• 2006 Biochemical Analysis Prize by the German Society for Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine

• 2007 Honorary Professor at The Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Protein Research, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Copenhagen

• 2007 2nd most cited European Scientist for the last ten years according to ScienceWatch (ISI)

• 2008 HUPO Distinguished Achievement Award in Proteomic Sciences (Shared with Prof. Denis Hochstrasser)

• 2009 Honorary Degree awarded from University of Dundee

• 2010 Friedrich Wilhelm Joseph von Schelling Prize awarded by the Bavarian Academy of Sciences

• 2011 Fyodor Lynen Lecture Medal 2011 (German Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology)

• 2012 Leibniz Prize of the German Research Society

• 2012 Ernst Schering Prize

• 2012 Louis-Jeantet Foundation Prize for Medicine

• 2012 Körber European Science Award

• 2013 Elected member of Leopoldina German National Academy of Sciences

• 2013 Winner of m4 Award – Ministry of Economic Affairs supports Personalized Medicine

• 2015 Barry L. Karger Medal in Bioanalytical Chemistry

• 2015 Theodor Bücher Lecture and Medal

• 2015 Danish Order of Dannebrog Knights Cross

• 2017 Winner of Lennart Philipson Award

Current Editorial Board Memberships:

• Carcinogenesis

• Cell

• Cell Systems

• Clinical Mass Spectrometry

• Molecular and Cellular Proteomics


Matthias Mann is currently involved in more than 6 external grants. Main sources: European

Union, BMBF (The German Federal Ministry of Education and Research), Michael J Fox

Foundation, Excellence Initiative of the Federal Republic of Germany and the German Research

Foundation (DFG) as well as joint projects with various industrial concerns.


Dr. Mann has authored and co-authored more than 650 publications with over 160,000

citations according to ISI (h-factor more than 190), making him one of the most highly cited

researchers worldwide

zuletzt geändert am: 10.05.2021 15:29 Uhr von