About the GDCh

About us, mission statement and history

With around 30,000 members from science, business and the liberal professions, the GDCh represents a large, professionally and socially relevant community. more

August Wilhelm von Hofmann founded the German Chemical Society in 1867, one of the two predecessor organizations of the GDCh. more

Board and other bodies

The Board is elected by the members of the GDCh in a secret ballot. His term of office is four years. It consists of 15 members, seven of which belong to the scientific sector (university, research institutions and authorities) and seven to the sector of business and the liberal professions. The 15th member is delegated by the chairmen of the Divisions and sections for a period of two years. The Board elects the Executive Committee from among its ranks, which includes the president, two deputy presidents and the treasurer. more

Commissions and Boards of Trustees

Specific tasks within the GDCh are performed by specially established commissions and boards of trustees. In most cases, these bodies advise and assist the board of directors. The court of honor (which is a statutory body of the GDCh) makes its decisions autonomously.

The members of the commissions and boards of trustees are appointed by the board of directors, the court of honor is appointed by the general assembly.

Price commissions
Lecture commissions
Board of Trustees

Membership and Benefits

Follow more than
30,000 chemists and you too can become a member of the GDCh! more

Equal opportunity and diversity

All chemists are welcome at the GDCh. Our guiding principles say, among other things: "We live diversity and equal opportunities". We represent a variety of people from different cultures, with different backgrounds and different characteristics and experiences. more

Activities and collaborations

The GDCh participates in discussions and activities on a national and international level in a variety of ways. more

Prizes and awards

The GDCh awards high-level prizes and awards to all ages and career levels in various fields of chemistry and related sciences. more

Foundations

The GDCh manages a number of dependent foundations on a fiduciary basis. The purpose of these foundations is to award prizes, sponsorship awards and grants. more

Name lectures

The German Chemical Society , together with international partner organizations, has set up a series of name lectures, which are given as a special honor to eminent scientists in the respective country. The aim of the name lectures is to intensify the scientific relationships between the countries. more

Historic sites of chemistry

With the "Historic Sites of Chemistry" program, the German Chemical Society (GDCh) honors achievements of historical importance in chemistry. The places of work of participating scientists will be honored as places of remembrance in a ceremonial act. more

Science Forum Chemistry (WiFo)

Every two years the GDCh organizes the GDCh Science Forum Chemistry (WiFo) at different locations in Germany. International scientists of high standing are invited to give lectures at this most important German chemistry congress. The GDCh also regularly awards some of its most prestigious prizes and awards as part of the WiFo. more

Anniversary 2017

Zur Jubiläumssonderseite

In 2017 the GDCh celebrated the 150th anniversary of its predecessor organization, the German Chemical Society, which was founded in Berlin in 1867. You can find everything about the anniversary year on a special page.

GDCh quick links

The GDCh websites are very extensive - you can get lost there. So that you can quickly find what you are looking for, we have summarized our offers here thematically. more

Contact

Varrentrappstr. 40-42
60486 Frankfurt am Main
Tel .: +49 69 7917-0
Fax: +49 69 7917-374
Email: gdch@gdch.de

Driving directions

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 09.07.2021 10:14 H from Webmaster

Über die
GDCh

Über uns, Leitbild und Geschichte

Mit rund 30.000 Mitgliedern aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und freien Berufen repräsentiert die GDCh eine große, fachlich wie gesellschaftlich relevante Gemeinschaft. mehr

August Wilhelm von Hofmann gründet 1867 die Deutsche Chemische Gesellschaft, eine der beiden Vorgängerorgansationen der GDCh. mehr

Vorstand und weitere Organe

Der Vorstand wird von den Mitgliedern der GDCh in geheimer Wahl gewählt. Seine Amtszeit beträgt vier Jahre. Er besteht aus 15 Mitgliedern, von denen sieben dem Wissenschaftsbereich (Hochschule, Forschungseinrichtungen und Behörden) und sieben dem Bereich der Wirtschaft und freien Berufe angehören. Das 15. Mitglied wird von den Vorsitzenden der Fachgruppen und Sektionen für jeweils zwei Jahre delegiert. Der Vorstand wählt aus seinen Reihen das Präsidium, dem neben dem Präsidenten zwei stellvertretende Präsidenten sowie der Schatzmeister angehören. 
mehr

Kommissionen und Kuratorien

Spezifische Aufgaben innerhalb der GDCh werden von speziell dafür eingerichteten Kommissionen und Kuratorien wahrgenommen. In den meisten Fällen beraten diese Gremien den Vorstand und arbeiten ihm zu. Das Ehrengericht (welches ein satzungsgemäßes Organ der GDCh darstellt) trifft seine Entscheidungen autonom.

Die Mitglieder der Kommissionen und Kuratorien beruft der Vorstand, das Ehrengericht wird durch die Mitgliederversammlung bestellt.

Preiskommissionen
Vorlesungskomissionen
Stiftungsbeiräte

Mitgliedschaft und Leistungen

Folgen Sie mehr als 
30.000 Chemikerinnen und Chemikern und werden auch Sie Mitglied der GDCh! mehr

Chancengleichheit und Diversity

Bei der GDCh sind alle Chemiker*innen willkommen. In unseren Leitbildern heißt es u.a.: "Wir leben Diversität und Chancengleichheit". Wir repräsentieren eine Vielfalt an Menschen aus verschiedenen Kulturen, mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund und unterschiedlichen Diversitätsmerkmalen sowie Erfahrungen. mehr

Aktivitäten und Kooperationen

Die GDCh beteiligt sich in vielfältiger Weise an Diskussionen und Aktivitäten auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene. mehr

Preise und Auszeichnungen

Die GDCh vergibt hochrangige Preise und Auszeichnungen an alle Alters- und Karrierestufen auf verschiedenen Gebieten der Chemie und angrenzenden Wissenschaften. mehr

Stiftungen

Treuhänderisch verwaltet die GDCh eine ganze Reihe unselbstständiger Stiftungen. Zweck dieser Stiftungen ist die Vergabe von Preisen, Förderpreisen und Stipendien. mehr

Namensvorlesungen

Die Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker hat gemeinsam mit internationalen Partnerorganisationen eine Reihe von Namensvorlesungen eingerichtet, die als besondere Auszeichnung an bedeutende WissenschaftlerInnen des jeweiligen Landes vergeben werden. Ziel der Namensvorlesungen ist es, die wissenschaftlichen Beziehungen zwischen den Ländern zu intensivieren. mehr

Historische Stätten der Chemie

Mit dem Programm "Historische Stätten der Chemie" würdigt die Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh) Leistungen von geschichtlichem Rang in der Chemie. Als Orte der Erinnerung werden Wirkungsstätten beteiligter Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in einem feierlichen Akt ausgezeichnet. mehr

Wissenschaftsforum Chemie (WiFo)

Alle zwei Jahre veranstaltet die GDCh an wechselnden Orten in Deutschland das GDCh-Wissenschaftsforum Chemie (WiFo). Zu diesem bedeutendsten deutschen Chemiekongress werden auch internationale Wissenschaftler von Rang und Namen zu Vorträgen eingeladen. Die GDCh vergibt außerdem regelmäßig im Rahmen des WiFo einige ihrer renommiertesten Preise und Auszeichnungen. mehr

Jubiläum 2017

Zur Jubiläumssonderseite

Im Jahr 2017 feierte die GDCh das 150jährige Gründungsjubiläum ihrer Vorgängerorganisation, der deutschen Chemischen Gesellschaft, die 1867 in Berlin gegründet wurde.

Alles rund ums Jubiläumsjahr finden Sie auf einer Sonderseite.

GDCh-Quicklinks

Die GDCh-Webseiten sind sehr umfangreich – da kann man sich schon einmal verirren. Damit Sie schnell finden, was Sie suchen, haben wir unsere Angebote hier thematisch zusammengefasst. mehr

Kontakt

Varrentrappstr. 40-42
60486 Frankfurt am Main
Tel.: +49 69 7917-0
Fax: +49 69 7917-232
E-Mail: gdch@gdch.de

Anfahrts-beschreibung

zuletzt geändert am: 09.06.2021 09:18 Uhr von Webmaster